About Us
Book Now
Big Cozy was erected in 1934


150 years ago, Cottonwood Pass was a trail first used by Indians, prospectors, settlers, and explorers seeking fortune deep in the mountains. It was expanded and cleared for wagons as a toll road built by Robert Hughes in 1870. An important stage coach stop sprung up on the east side of Cottonwood Pass where the blacksmith would service the vehicles and wagons before beginning the steep and difficult climb to the top. This area was known as Hughes Meadows. The dam was built in 1929 and the lake became known as Fikany Lake. Named for the Fikany family who built the first cabins, Big Cozy in 1934 and Jumbo in 1937, they later renamed the lake Mt. Yale Rainbow Trout Lake.

Fikany Lake

Two doctors purchased all the separate original log cabins built on the lake in 1948 and the property became Rainbow Lake Resort. The original lake lodge (now The Landing) was added in 1952. Cottonwood Pass remained a rough 4-wheel drive road until 1959. The pass road was rerouted around Rainbow Lake and the road was paved to the top of the east side in 1990.

Rainbow Trout Lake

The Lippert family became the owners in 1962 and expanded the resort with the addition of the west end cabins and again later with the purchase of the mountain homes in the mid-1990s. Donald Erick Lippert designed and built the new lodge, lodge units and the Buffalo Peaks great room in 2007. It was his desire to create a place for families to gather and since that time the Buffalo Peaks room has hosted numerous gatherings including weddings, receptions, and family reunions. The Lippert family is committed to continuing the rich history of Rainbow Lake and preserving the rustic beauty of the resort.